Quilt for Dad, originally uploaded by Cathi O’Neill.

Could you help me? I want to start on my dad’s Christmas present (mom…I am going to make you something special too, but will keep it secret!!) and I have no batiks. This is the view my parents have of the Cascades from their deck…just gorgeous. I thought I had bought the sky fabric in Bend last Christmas, but now that I can’t find it, lol, I am starting to think I passed on it because I need a sky fabric where the clouds go in the length and nApplecore Doll Quiltot the width What I need for Dads quiltdirection…so it can go the whole 64 inch width with clouds going left to right and not up and down. We have no major selection of fabrics in Ireland, so I’m not too hopeful of finding the perfect sky fabric here, but I’d be willing to pay or trade with anyone that could find 2 yards of a good cloud fabric for me in their lovely local shops! I’ll put a list of what fabrics I need for this quilt here in a thumbnail, but click please if you think you might have some fabrics that I could trade you for!!

I also have one more favor to ask you (I know…cheeky of me!!). I want to start quilting on my apple core quilt, but what color quilting thread would you use? I have red and natural, but would black be better for this?? Also, if I wanted to quilt baptist fans freehand, would I start from the edge of the quilt or from the center. is there a good tutorial for this? Help!!

DSCF0957And look! Some knitting being done!! I am up to the toe now on my socks. Here is my massive calf and ankle in full glory with my pomatomus sock. Will I take a break and start on something else, or will I get that second sock on the needles?

Aine was so cute today, she wanted to quilt with me, so I gave her needle and thread and here she is (face painted from summer camp with big pink hearts on her cheeks!) “helping” me with my Dear Jane… I’ll keep her big stitches in and quilt around them. I’ll remove them eventually but they are so sweet I don’t really want to now. I’m up to 31 blocks now!!

DJ QuiltingDSCF0967Aine's stitches

